Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology


Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Department of Paediatrics, N.K.P. Salve Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre and Lata Mangeshkar Hospital Hingna Nagpur in association with AOP, Nagpur had organized World Breastfeeding Week Celebrations from 1st August to 7th August 2022. It was a mega event with various activities organized for and participated by undergraduates, postgraduates, faculties of both departments, interns and nursing colleges of VSPM.

Inaugural function and Awareness Program For ICDS Workers (1st Aug 2022): The chief guest for the occasion was Dr Pritish Khatwar (Hon. Secretary AOP, Nagpur). The guest of honour were Dr Kajal Mitra (Dean, NKP SIMS)Dr Vilas Thombre (Vice Dean) and Dr Nitin Deosthale (Vice Dean & MS). They were welcomed by DrAnuja Bhalerao( Prof& HOD OBGY) and Dr Girish Nanoti ( HOD & Prof  Paeds). Program was attended by 149 ICDS Workers, Faculties from OBGY and Paeds department and 142 UG Students.

Breastfeeding Awareness Campaign(1st August 22): Awareness talk by Dr. Sheela Jain and Dr. Pradeep Pazare for ICDS Workers, Antenatal awareness program at OBGY OPD by Dr Prachi Dixit, Postnatal mothers’ awareness program by DrAnkita Gaur, Awareness program at RHTC Katol by Dr Priyanka Thakur and Public awareness by Radio Talk had been organized to promote Safe Breastfeeding Practices.

2nd August Poster, Slogan, &Rangoli competition

The winners for posters- 1st prize – Dr Aakansh Reddy ( JRPaeds)

                                             2nd prize – Dr Shweta Suryawanshi (JR OBGY)

                                             3rd prize-  Dr Rujuta Paturde

                                             3rd prize – Amol Parshive

The winners for slogan-   1st prize – Jaya Awale( MSWPaeds)

                                             2nd prize – Prajakta Junewar (Asst Prof OBGY)

                                             3rdprize – Dr Somsundaram PL ( JR Paeds)

                                             3rd prize- Dr Rupali Moharkar

The winners for rangoli –  1st prize – Dr Aakansh Reddy (JR Paeds)

                                              2nd prize –Pranali Bhoyar (Nursing Student ward 14)

                                              2nd prize- Abhilasha Moon

                                              3rd prize – Dr Shweta Suryawanshi

                                              3rd prize- Jaya Awale (MSW Paeds)

                                              3rd prize- Chaya Nagpure

3rd AugustSyndicate Seminar by PG Students (OBGY &Paeds) for UG Students was a grand success with attendance of 123 Students and Faculties. Syndicate seminar was presented by Dr Ashwini Najan, Dr Priyanka Dapkekar, Dr CharmyVashi from OBGY Department and Dr Mariam Jatu, Dr Ankita Tikalkar from Paediatric Department.

4th August- Role play and Skit Competition:Dr Nikita Vijay (Asso.Prof OBGY), Dr Pradeep Pazare (Associate Prof, Paeds), Dr Sheela Jain (SR OBGY) were judges for the competition. Out of 6 teams from various VSPM departments, Paediatrics team won the first prize and team Nursing won the second prize.

5th AugustBreastfeeding Quiz:In Breastfeeding Quiz, 6 teams one each from MBBS, Interns, Postgraduates from OBGY & Paediatrics and 2 teams from Nursing department took participation. The UG, PG and Nursing students attended the quiz in large numbers to encourage the participants. Quiz masters were Dr Snehal Nafade, Dr  Sharvari Lothe from OBGY and Dr Kiran Gaikwad, Dr Gauri Rajput from

Winning Team- Interns ( 2017 MBBS) – Dr Sakshi Daulatkar & Dr Sayali Chaudhari.

1st runner up team – UG team (2018 MBBS) – Shubham Kulkarni & Mitali Agrawal

 2nd runner up team – Pediatrics residents team- – Dr Mariam Jatu & Dr Shriya Umalkar.

6th August- Prize Distribution and Valedictory:On the concluding day, prize distribution and Valedictory ceremony was organized in Inspire Hall. The vote of thanks was given by Dr Prajakta Junewar and Dr Gauri Rajput from Paediatric Department.

All the faculties and Resident doctors of both the departments worked hard under the guidance of Dr Anuja Bhalerao (Prof & HOD OBGY) &Dr Girish Nanoti ( Prof& HOD Paeds).

Incharges and Co-ordinators for Breastfeeding week

Dr Nikita Vijay                                              Dr Himanshu Dua

Dr Prajakta Junewar                                     Dr Gouri Rajput

Dr Ankita Gaur                                             Dr Kiran Gaikwad

Prof & HOD

Dept. of OBGY