(NAAC Accredited with A+)


Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology


Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Department of Paediatrics, N.K.P. Salve Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre and Lata Mangeshkar Hospital Hingna Nagpur in association with NOGS, NARCHI Nagpur Chapter, AOP and MET Unit NKP SIMS & RC had organized World Breastfeeding Week Celebrations from 1st August to 7th August 2021. It was a mega event with various activities organized for and participated by undergraduates, postgraduates, faculties of both departments, interns and nursing colleges of VSPM.

Inaugural function and Quiz on breastfeeding on 2nd Aug 2021. The chief guest for the occasion were Dr Ujjwala Deshmukh (President NARCHI, Nagpur chapter) and Dr Pankaj Agrawal ( Hon. Secretary AOP, Nagpur). The guest of honour were Dr Kajal Mitra (Dean, NKP SIMS) and Dr Nitin Deosthale (Vice Dean & MS). They were welcomed by Dr Anuja Bhalerao ( Prof OBGY) and Dr Girish Nanoti ( HOD & Prof Paeds).

In Breastfeeding quiz 5 teams one each from MBBS, Interns, Postgraduates from OBGY & Paediatrics and nursing department took participation.The UG and PG students attended the quiz in large numbers taking care of social distancing norms. 

Winning Team- Interns ( 2016 MBBS) – Dr Anagha Yenurkar & Dr Shweta Agrawal.

1st runner up team – UG team (2017 MBBS) – Dr Harshal Ninawe & Dr Pratiksha Virande

2nd runner up team – Pediatrics residents team- – Dr Vasant Dhawas & Dr Nikita Dhabale.

Release of Educational videos on Breastfeeding prepared by the faculties and residents of OBGY & Paeds which was done by hands of Dr Kajal Mitra.

3rd August – Poster, Slogan, & Rangoli competition

The winners for posters-    

 1st prize – Trupti Bansod ( GNM Nursing 3rd yr)

2nd prize – Mahima Throat (GNM Nursing 3rd yr)

3rd prize – Ankit kumarPanda ( Intern -2016 MBBS)

The winners for slogan-       

1st prize – Jaya Awale ( MSW Paeds)

2nd prize – Prajakta Junewar ( Asst Prof OBGY)

3rd prize – Vishal Raman ( JR 2 OBGY)

The winners for rangoli –     

1st prize – Mahima Throat (GNM Nursing 3rd yr)

2nd prize – Rupali Chaudhari (GNM Nursing 1st yr)

3rd prize – Mukta Dongre (GNM Nursing 1st yr

Consolation prize – Swati Khandare – ( paeds ward patient)

3rd AugustBreastfeeding awareness campaign by talks, role plays and videosRHTC Katol attended by 45 people in presence of medical officer Dr.Rupal Darak, MSW and female social workers and ASHA workers.

4th August- Syndicate Seminar for UG’s

5th August Role play and skit competition Winning team was , GNM 3rd year Nursing team & runner up was Paeds dept team. Judges were Dr Anjali Kawthalkar, Dr Himanshu Dua & Dr Asha Shimgekar.

6th AugustAwareness programme for Antenatal and Postnatal Women and their relatives in ANC and PNC ward and it was attended by about 50 people. Similar programme was conducted for ASHA worker, and Educational video release for ASHA workers prepared by the faculty of OBGY dept was released which was highly appreciated by the 20 ASHA’s who attended the event. Similar public awareness programme on breastfeeding was conducted at

Jaitala UHTC which was attended by around 25 people who highly appreciated the programme.

On the concluding day i.e 7th August an online CME was organised for the faculties, UG & PG students and nursing students Dr. Vidya Sutaone madam spoke on “Antenatal preparation of to be mother for breastfeeding” and Dr. Swapnil Bhisikar updated about “Breastfeeding in special situations”.The CME was attended by 40 delegates online and around 25 participants physically. The celebration concluded by Valedictory and prize distribution ceremony.

All the faculties of both the departments worked hard under the guidance of Dr Anuja Bhalerao ( Prof ObGy) & Dr Sulabha Joshi ( Prof & HOD ObGy) and Dr Girish Nanoti ( Prof & HOD Paeds).

Incharges and Co-ordinators for Breastfeeding week-

Dr Nikita Vijay                                             Dr Himanshu Dua

Dr Pallavi Khangar                                      Dr Gouri Rajput

Dr Priyanka Shelkar                                    Dr Rizwan Ahemad Dr Mrunali Kalamkar